Innovation Month 2014 – a special thank you

[Originally published on the Australian Government Public Sector Innovation Network under a Creative Commons 3.0 BY AU licence]

This post is a special thank you to all those involved in making Innovation Month happen – it’s a big series of events and wouldn’t be possible without the effort, contribution and support of so many.

Though I am sure that we will fail to acknowledge all who were involved, thanks go to:

    • The Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) ACT Division for pulling together a great joint event
    • The NICTA eGov Cluster for hosting a number of our events
    • Allison Hornery and John Wells and the Inspire Centre for coordinating and pulling together the most excellent GovCamp
    • The wonderful volunteers who pulled together GovHack and who demonstrate the power of what can be done
    • Dr Abby Robinson and her colleagues at the Therapeutic Goods Administration and the Department of Health for pulling together the Innovation Summit
    • The Australian Centre for Social Innovation for their workshops around the country
    • The Department of Human Service for running their ‘Learning about design’ training for public servants from other agencies
    • Clare Conroy for facilitating a design crash course
    • The senior leaders of the APS who participated and helped demonstrate the leadership support that exists for this agenda, including:
        • Secretary Glenys Beauchamp, Department of Industry
        • Secretary Drew Clarke, Department of Communications
        • Dr Megan Clark, Chief Executive, CSIRO
        • Patricia Kelly, Director General, IP Australia
        • Grant Tidswell, Deputy Secretary, Department of Human Services
        • Dr Jill Chalker, CEO of ComSuper
        • Professor Graham Durant, Director of Questacon
        • John Sheridan, First Assistant Secretary and Chief Technology Officer, Department of Finance
        • Paul Trotman, A/g Head of Division, Department of Industry
        • Doron Ben-Meir, Department of Industry
        • Bill Turner, Therapeutic Goods administration
        • Merry Branson, Australian Bureau of Statistics
        • As well as the many others whose support enabled Innovation Month

      The many external speakers including Professor John Halligan of the University of Canberra, Rory Ford of Entry 29, Jane Treadwell, Dr Sarah Pearson of the Canberra Innovation Network, John Body of ThinkPlace, Allan Ryan of the Hargraves Institute, Kate Delaney of Delaney Foresight, John Whiting of Crown & Marks, Michelle Lambert of Social Media Navigator, Dominic Campbell of FutureGov, James Hartley of Informed Solutions, and James Young

    • Our colleagues from the many agencies who put on events or spoke at events
    • Our colleagues and partners who helped promote Innovation Month
    • All those who contributed to our APS Innovations video which helped highlight some of the varied and interesting examples of work being done on the ground
    • All those who attended and participated
    • (And anyone who registered for an event and then told us in advance if they could no longer make it, thanks, it makes our jobs easier).

Innovation is a social process, so thanks to everyone who helped make Innovation Month a social time!